I am (almost) getting a kick out of this

I reported late last month that I had yet to feel any kind of baby movement.

I had an appointment with my obstetrician the following week where he asked about movement and I said that no, I was pretty sure I hadn’t felt anything. Since the books and websites describe it as anything as beautiful as a butterfly flapping its wings to as ordinary and, frankly, unpleasant as gas bubbles, I really had no idea what I was waiting for.

I was just fairly certain that whatever I was waiting for hadn’t arrived.

Well, my wait is over.

About a week ago, I lay in bed, furiously solving a sudoku puzzle in a record-setting time, when all of a sudden, it felt like I was at the top of a roller coaster. You know that moment, right after you’ve clicked and clanked all the way to the top? You’ve just rounded the peak of the first hill and the drop just whooshes right beneath you and your stomach kind of forgets to come along, just for a second. It feels like it’s suspended just a little out of place, then it does that thing that Wile E. Coyote does when he realizes the piece of land he’s been walking on has fallen to the ground – it scrambles back to safety.

For me, the baby moving felt a bit like that, only a lot less terrifying and a little more magical.

(I can still use the word ‘magical’ because right now, the movements feel more like acrobatic somersaults. From what I understand, that lasts all of about four weeks until it turns to full out kicks, which can be less than comfortable.)

I think the feeling itself was rather fitting. This whole thing is going to be a lot like a roller coaster ride – we might as well get started now.

Leave a Reply

