How sweet I am

After being left less than impressed with a book called Emotional survival for law enforcement: A guide for officers and their families, I found myself looking for a resource for people involved with police officers that offered better solutions to the new, stressful, dynamic lifestyle we’re both about to face than what that book recommended: essentially, be nice to your police officer significant other because his/her life is hard.

Nope. Sorry. Not going to happen.

I have had a book called I Love a Cop sitting in my online shopping cart for a couple months now, so when a free shipping day finally came around, I ordered it, and it showed up earlier this week. After having read just the back cover, I was much more encouraged.

This book “gives you practical ways to deal with the challenges that come with the territory,” and “it explains how to reduce spillover from on-the-job stress and cope with loneliness or worry during extended deployments.” Hey, I like a lot of those words – practical, deal with, cope. These are all things that I want; I don’t just want to ‘be nice.’

Sorry, honey.

By page 15, I already feel like I have a better idea of what to expect – and not just “he’ll become a cynical workaholic with a narrow to non-existent social circle whose sole home activity is vegetating in front of the television.” And there was a handy little box with five specific tips as well as two anecdotes of things that other couples have tried to deal with the challenges of shift work.

Still, I’m sure there’s something to be said for being nice, generally.

My husband finished up the first part of his training today, which involved classroom and practical education with new recruits from all of the officers across the province. Family members were invited to the college to take part in the end-of-semester celebrations, and I figured I could practice being nice – not just to my husband, but to all of his classmates that I’ve heard so much about over the past three months.

So, I spent one night earlier this week creating and decorating police-related cookies to hand out to the gang (with the help of a spectacularly wonderful friend).

Although I'm sure you can tell because of the impressive artwork, I'll identify the cookies: a police officer (with a buzz cut), a badge, a police cruiser, and handcuffs.

Although I’m sure you can tell because of the impressive artwork, I’ll identify the cookies: a police officer (with a buzz cut), a badge, a police cruiser, and handcuffs.

Pretty sweet, eh?

 

One thought on “How sweet I am

Leave a Reply

