Police ponderings

You know that moment when you’re out for a leisurely drive, enjoying the radio and not really having a care in the world, when all of a sudden, you look in the rear view mirror and see there’s a police car following you?

That’s never good.

Even if you’re being a perfectly well-behaved law-abiding citizen – hands on 10 and 2, no distractions, and doing the posted speed limit – things automatically become tense.

Here’s a question for you, though; what happens when the person driving that police car happens to be your spouse?

If I had considered it before it actually happened to me, I may have thought that it would be a little easier to see that it was Mr. B back there. He knows my insurance is up-to-date and that I do, in fact, own my car, for example, so he wouldn’t need to pull me over to check my documents. I have an idea of what his tolerance is for speeding and that I was well within it, and he and I both know that I haven’t had a drop of alcohol for the last eight months. Well, eight days. Eight hours.  A sip here and there is fine, okay?

The point is, I was driving to a medical appointment today – an hour drive along the highway – and my husband and his coach officer pulled out behind me on the road and followed me for about twenty minutes.

Sure enough, I tensed up. It was rather disconcerting.

When I relayed this story to people I knew at the doctor’s office – did I mention it’s all small towns around here? – they laughed at me and told me I didn’t need to worry. And I mean, I guess they were right – he didn’t pull me over, after all.

But when I got home, I told my husband that I had been nervous. He laughed, then told me that he had, in fact, asked his coach whether he could pull me over.

Thank goodness his coach has been married long enough to know the right answer.

One thought on “Police ponderings

  1. hilarious……..good job his coach was there at the time or there may have been a ” domestic ” later that day !

Leave a Reply

