The fourth little piggy

If you like having a clean house, owning two large, hairy, shedding dogs is probably not for you.

If, however, you take great satisfaction in the cleaning process, maybe you should consider getting a couple big mutts.

Here’s why: They shed fur constantly, which means that even if you sweep your floors every day, there will be a monstrous amount of hair waiting for you the next day.  I like seeing a visible before and after with anything I do – be it ticking items off a to-do list, wiping down a counter, or sweeping the floors.  If you can’t tell that you’ve done something, what’s the point of doing it? That’s what I always say.

Having a baby has provided me with a few extra ‘satisfying’ tasks to add to my list.  Some were expected, like wiping of baby’s butt.  I figured that would be both horrifying and fascinating, and I was right.

Something I did not expect, though, was how satisfying it can be to give Baby E a bath.  She’s still far too little to really get dirty unless I spill cookie batter on her head (which admittedly happens on a weekly basis), since we make a concerted effort to keep her butt clean on an ongoing basis.  But she is now eating quite a bit. So she’d getting bigger.  And wider.  And chubbier.  And there is one part of her body that has grown to such a size that it has developed its own gravitational field and pulls any crud within a certain distance towards it, then hides it for us to find later: her chin.

Specifically, her second chin.

At this point, that thing hangs down like Santa Claus’ beard, and giving its underside a good wipe in the bath yields almost as many dust bunnies as sweeping the floors.

I know that as she grows a bit and moves a bit more, her extra rolls and creases will probably subside a little (or a lot).  But for my own selfish reasons, I don’t want her to lose her extra chin – not by the hair on (or rather, under) it.

5 thoughts on “The fourth little piggy

  1. “I like seeing a visible before and after with anything I do – be it ticking items off a to-do list, wiping down a counter, or sweeping the floors. If you can’t tell that you’ve done something, what’s the point of doing it? That’s what I always say”
    YES!! Totally agree. The only chore I do consistently is vacuuming because it’s so satisfying removing the white bunny fur from my dark brown carpet! Also, sometimes I’ll add things to my To-Do List that I’ve already done just so I can check it off lol

Leave a Reply

