Better than cheese fries

“She almost put a Cheerio in her mouth!”

I said that today to my husband, full of enthusiasm and pride.

I guess after several months of having a lump for a child, any kind of intentional, directed action is exciting to see.  Really, really exciting.  I am genuinely surprised about how excited I am.

Baby E can now clap. And stand with the help of furniture for about ten seconds.  And roll over in both directions.  And almost put real food in her mouth.

Look, I get it.  I just listed a bunch of things that most of the world’s population can do without any trouble.  In fact, some people can even stand without the help of furniture and actually put real food in their mouths. My child is not that impressive in comparison.

And yet, here I am: impressed.

It’s amazing how much of a difference having someone come out of your body makes to caring about what they do.

I didn’t believe people when they said things like, ‘they grow up so fast,’ and I’m sure I still don’t really get it, but at this point, I can seriously see changes and developments from day-to-day.  It is really awesome – and I mean that in the true sense of the word, not just in the “these cheese fries are awesome” sense.

Who am I kidding? Cheese fries are pretty awesome.

One thought on “Better than cheese fries

Leave a Reply

